Skip to content
B

Rating report

Coinbase

Grade B, 3.7 out of 5

Coinbase is a publicly traded, SEC-reporting U.S. company licensed in 45 states and holding a New York BitLicense, and the SEC's 2023 case against it was dismissed with prejudice in February 2025; it runs no crypto-specific proof-of-reserves programme and its last disclosed crime-insurance figure dates from 2019.

By Safety Desk. Facts checked against official sources on .

Findings, check by check

Every KripZen grade comes from the same five weighted checks. Here is how Coinbase scores on each.

  1. Proof of reserves 30%

    Runs no exchange-wide proof-of-reserves programme; reserve assurance rests on its Deloitte-audited filings as an SEC-reporting public company, plus per-asset attestations for wrapped tokens such as cbBTC.

    What “Proof of reserves” means

    Partial or unaudited

  2. Custody 25%

    Coinbase Custody is an NYDFS-regulated qualified custodian, but the cold/hot storage split is not disclosed and we could not confirm it from a primary source.

    What “Custody” means

    Partial or unaudited

  3. Regulation 20%

    New York BitLicense, FinCEN MSB registration, UK FCA registration FRN 900635 and licences in 45 U.S. states; paid a $100m NYDFS consent order in January 2023, and the SEC's 2023 unregistered-exchange suit was dismissed with prejudice on 27 February 2025.

    What “Regulation” means

    Disclosed

  4. Insurance 15%

    A $255m crime policy covering hot-wallet assets was disclosed in 2019; Coinbase still advertises commercial crime cover for custodied assets but has not confirmed a current figure.

    Partial or unaudited

  5. Incident history 10%

    No confirmed platform-level breach of customer funds found in our research.

    Disclosed

The weights are the same for every exchange. Read the full methodology

Licences and registrations

The 4 entries we could confirm for Coinbase on a regulator’s register or the exchange’s own legal pages. A licence in one country does not mean the service is open to you.

RegulatorLicence or registrationRegister number
NYDFSUnited StatesBitLicense (Virtual Currency Business Activity) Coinbase, Inc.122466
NYDFSUnited StatesMoney Transmitter License Coinbase, Inc.MT 103755
Louisiana OFIUnited StatesVirtual Currency Business Activity License Coinbase, Inc.1163082
Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier (CSSF)LuxembourgMiCA CASP Coinbase Luxembourg S.A.LEI 984500F14CA4571AAC11; authorised 20/06/2025

Fees, products and reach

Spot fees (base tier)
Not published openly
Proof of reserves
Not found
Products
Spot, Futures, Staking, Card purchases
Founded
2012

Base-tier fees from the exchange’s own fee page. Your real cost depends on order type, volume tier and spread; try your numbers in the Exchange Fee Calculator

Our Coinbase review

Coinbase is the most heavily licensed venue in this corpus and one of the very few that files audited accounts with a securities regulator. It still scores a B rather than higher, because being a public company is not the same as showing readers what you hold.

What checks out

Regulation is the clean factor. Coinbase holds a New York BitLicense, a FinCEN MSB registration, UK FCA registration FRN 900635 and licences in 45 U.S. states — every one of those checkable on a public register. The SEC's 2023 unregistered-exchange suit was dismissed with prejudice on 27 February 2025. A $100m NYDFS consent order from January 2023 sits on the same record and belongs beside it. We found no confirmed platform-level breach of customer funds.

Where the evidence stops

There is no exchange-wide proof-of-reserves programme. Reserve assurance rests on Deloitte-audited filings made as an SEC-reporting public company, plus per-asset attestations for wrapped tokens such as cbBTC. That is stronger than nothing, and weaker than a Merkle-tree proof you can check your own balance against. Coinbase Custody is an NYDFS-regulated qualified custodian, but the cold/hot split is not published and we could not confirm it from a primary source. The last crime-insurance figure we can point to — $255m covering hot-wallet assets — was disclosed in 2019; the company still advertises commercial crime cover for custodied assets without confirming a current number.

How to read the grade

Coinbase's protections are mostly institutional: audited accounts, a regulated custodian, a supervised licence book. They are meaningful, and they are not the same thing as a cryptographic proof you can verify yourself. The B says the paperwork is in order, and that the reader-verifiable evidence is thinner than the paperwork suggests.

Sources

Every fact on this page comes from one of these official pages, checked on October 20, 2026.

  1. coinbase.com/advanced-trade
  2. coinbase.com/legal/licenses
  3. esma.europa.eu/sites/default/files/2024-12/CASPS.csv
  4. help.coinbase.com/en/coinbase/trading-and-funding/advanced-trade/advanced-trade-fees
  5. coinbase.com/about
  6. help.coinbase.com/en/coinbase/getting-started/add-a-payment-method/add-and-verify-pm-namerica-latam
  7. help.coinbase.com/en/coinbase/managing-my-account/other/prohibited-regions

Where to go next

Other exchanges we've graded

How to read these grades: each is derived from published, checkable disclosures — proof-of-reserves attestations, public regulatory registers, disclosed insurance funds and the documented incident record — using the weighted rubric below. Where an exchange does not disclose something, we mark it unverified rather than assume it. These are not audits and not investment advice; they reflect what was published as of our last review. Cryptocurrency investments carry risk, including loss of principal. Nothing on KripZen is financial advice — always do your own research before buying, trading or moving funds.