Skip to content
B+

Rating report

Bitget

Grade B+, 4.0 out of 5

Bitget publishes a monthly open-source Merkle-tree proof of reserves showing BTC at 138% and ETH at 181%, and cites a protection fund its own sources size differently; ASIC issued an investor alert in July 2025 over unlicensed high-leverage derivatives.

By Safety Desk. Facts checked against official sources on .

Findings, check by check

Every KripZen grade comes from the same five weighted checks. Here is how Bitget scores on each.

  1. Proof of reserves 30%

    Monthly open-source Merkle-tree proof of reserves published on GitHub, showing BTC reserves at 138%, ETH at 181%, USDC at 107% and USDT at 101%.

    What “Proof of reserves” means

    Disclosed

  2. Custody 25%

    Uses multi-signature cold storage, but the cold/hot storage split is not disclosed and we could not confirm it from a primary source.

    What “Custody” means

    Partial or unaudited

  3. Regulation 20%

    Lists an AUSTRAC registration, El Salvador CNAD/BSP licences, Argentine CNV and Mexican SAT registrations, a UK FCA Section 21 approver partnership and a Swiss FINMA SRO membership, without registration numbers we could check against public registers. ASIC issued a public investor alert on 28 July 2025 over unlicensed crypto derivatives sold to Australian retail clients at up to 125x leverage, noting Bitget holds no Australian Financial Services licence; its own corporate registration is cited variously as Seychelles, Lithuania or New Zealand.

    What “Regulation” means

    Partial or unaudited

  4. Insurance 15%

    A protection fund is disclosed but sized inconsistently across sources — $630m in one, 6,500 BTC (implemented December 2022) in another — so no single figure is confirmed.

    Partial or unaudited

  5. Incident history 10%

    No confirmed major security incident found in our research.

    Disclosed

The weights are the same for every exchange. Read the full methodology

Licences and registrations

The 9 entries we could confirm for Bitget on a regulator’s register or the exchange’s own legal pages. A licence in one country does not mean the service is open to you.

RegulatorLicence or registrationRegister number
AUSTRACAustraliadigital currency exchange provider registration Not published
FCAUnited KingdomFCA-approved platform partnering with an Authorised Person (s.21 FSMA financial promotions) - not a registration Not published
FINMA-recognised SROSwitzerlandAML SRO member Not published
Financial Sector Conduct AuthoritySouth AfricaCASP licence and OTC derivatives provider licence Not published
CNVArgentinavirtual asset service provider Not published
SATMexicovulnerable activity registration Not published
BCR / CNADEl SalvadorBitcoin Service Provider (BCR) and Digital Asset Service Provider (CNAD) Not published
Financial Services CommissionMauritiusinvestment dealer (full service dealer excl. underwriting) licence Not published
Tbilisi Free Industrial ZoneGeorgiadigital asset exchange, wallet and custody service provider Not published

Fees, products and reach

Spot fees (base tier)
0.1% maker, 0.1% takerBase rate before VIP/BGB discount (0.08% each when paying fees in BGB)
Proof of reserves
Published
Products
Spot, Futures, P2P, Card purchases, Copy trading
Founded
2018
Not offered under its own terms in
Austria, Belarus, Canada, Cuba, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iran, Japan, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, North Korea, Russia, Singapore, Sudan, United States, Puerto Rico, Guam, U.S. Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Northern Mariana Islands, Iraq, Libya, Yemen, Afghanistan, Central African Republic, Congo - Kinshasa, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Lebanon, Somalia, South Sudan, Thailand

Base-tier fees from the exchange’s own fee page. Your real cost depends on order type, volume tier and spread; try your numbers in the Exchange Fee Calculator

Our Bitget review

Bitget is the second-highest grade we publish, a B+, on the strength of a reserve proof anyone can audit and a licence list nobody can. The gap between those two is the whole review.

What checks out

Monthly Merkle-tree proof of reserves is published open-source on GitHub, showing BTC reserves at 138%, ETH at 181%, USDC at 107% and USDT at 101%. Publishing the tooling alongside the numbers is the part that matters: it means the figures are testable rather than merely stated. We found no confirmed major security incident.

Where the evidence stops

The regulatory picture is a list without identifiers. Bitget cites an AUSTRAC registration, El Salvador CNAD and BSP licences, Argentine CNV and Mexican SAT registrations, a UK FCA Section 21 approver partnership and a Swiss FINMA SRO membership — none with registration numbers we could check against a public register. Its own corporate registration is cited variously as Seychelles, Lithuania or New Zealand depending on the source. On 28 July 2025 ASIC issued a public investor alert over unlicensed crypto derivatives sold to Australian retail clients at up to 125x leverage, noting that Bitget holds no Australian Financial Services licence. The protection fund is disclosed but sized inconsistently across its own sources — $630m in one, 6,500 BTC implemented in December 2022 in another — so no single figure is confirmed. The cold/hot storage split is not disclosed; multi-signature cold storage is described, but not quantified.

How to read the grade

Bitget shows its reserves better than almost anyone here and its paperwork worse than most. A B+ says the money appears to be there; it does not say who you would turn to if it stopped being.

Sources

Every fact on this page comes from one of these official pages, checked on October 20, 2026.

  1. bitget.com/promotion/aboutus
  2. bitget.com/asia/promotion/regulatory-license
  3. bitget.com/support/articles/12560603825829
  4. bitget.com/how-to-buy/bitcoin
  5. bitget.com/promotion/proof-of-reserves
  6. bitget.com/support/articles/360014944032-terms-of-use

Where to go next

Other exchanges we've graded

How to read these grades: each is derived from published, checkable disclosures — proof-of-reserves attestations, public regulatory registers, disclosed insurance funds and the documented incident record — using the weighted rubric below. Where an exchange does not disclose something, we mark it unverified rather than assume it. These are not audits and not investment advice; they reflect what was published as of our last review. Cryptocurrency investments carry risk, including loss of principal. Nothing on KripZen is financial advice — always do your own research before buying, trading or moving funds.